I am Home!

Standard

dc4f7e0cfa977e351a786e0b147e59dd

As the mercury soared and the rising temperatures competed with the humidity, we decided to take our vacation party from the confines of our home to my parent’s home, where mess does not usually include shredded newspaper or toys that squeak, and the kids and I could effortlessly topple, upset and upturn the routine of its occupants who woke up, slept and ate at the same time every single day.

We have managed to bring the Sun with us for the rain Gods are on vacation after a brief spell.

My parents who found Little Princess’s creative zeal and post-midnight antics cute over Skype are now  seen to oscillate between being caught under her spell and reeling under the pressures of her new-found ideas, games and undiminishing energy.

The week has been spent enjoying the warmth of family, relishing the tastiest pani puris from the smiling street vendor whose disposable polyethene gloves are crinkled and worn with use, walking under the broad canopies of the gulmohar and banyan trees in Cubbon Park that is bereft of the Page 3 ‘hip’ population who prefer to crowd the zillion malls that litter the city, riding pillion on my brother’s bike up the misty roads of Nandi Hills, and staring endlessly from the hired Uber cab at the dozen bikes and cars that stand shoulder to shoulder, some of them ‘Working from Traffic’, amidst the menacingly slow moving traffic while I thank the Gods for small mercies like that of ‘Working from Potholes’ that is yet to catch up in this city.

When I wake up to the smell of mother’s filter coffee and can write this post uninterrupted – I know I am home!

30 responses »

  1. For sure the coffee will be just one of the many things you’ll truly enjoy to reminisce and savor once more in your folks’ home 😊
    Your folks must also be thrilled by your family’s visit ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww❤❤ happiness is what this post has given me. Hahaha. Grandparents fall so easily under the charming spell of kids but the way you describe your little princess’s antics, I think her charms have worked magic on me too. I’m pretty certain she’s adorable ❤
    The description of what you’ve been doing at your home place made me filled with a warmth, familiarity and love. Ah and I want to have coffee myself now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, TW . A lot of happiness indeed. My little one is stretching the limits of my parent’s capabilities but they are most definitely enjoying it. I call her the ‘cutest little devil’ who can test our patience but in cutest manner. It has been wonderful meeting friends, having cousins over and talking about old times late into the night amidst a power outrage and when it is pouring outside. Just hoping to make it short and sweet and to carry back another load of memories along with the many others. Good day dear friend.

      Like

  3. Awww enjoy Pranitha! Drink in all the pleasures of home so you have enough memories until next time:)
    I’m not that much of a coffee-girl but you know, that smell definitely reminds of Bangalore:)
    So well written, I enjoy reading your articles!
    Sorry I have been away for a bit, now catching on your wonderful writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for reading. I would love to know what you think...

