Not My Cup of Tea

Standard

zen_tea_240113-800x566

In India, a cup of tea is the most common beverage to kick-start your day.

Extensive promotions of Western-style coffee bars that have sprouted across the country luring the ‘cool’ generation with lattes and other caffeinated beverages are yet to rob a country of its love affair with a hot glass of ‘chai’.

In my family, tea is more than a ritual that you begin your day with.

It is the elixir of life itself.

The deliciously warm magic potion became a joyful addition in times of happiness, an aromatic balm that can soothe your sorrow, a faithful companion on a bored day, a welcome addition to the warmth and flavor to a plate of crispy ‘pakoras’ on a rainy day, a soulful mate fueling your thoughts in times of quiet intellect or simply because you crave for yet another cup.

It has been the essential and integral part of the rhythm of life for every member of my family – except me.

I was the Horlicks baby who had the audacity to throw up at the mere sight or aroma of my family’s favorite beverage.

I gradually got used to relatives stop midsentence an intense session of gossip and stare with their open mouths unceremoniously showcasing their tea- stained dental makeup when they heard me refuse a hot cup and chose to sip on water instead. Mother was bombarded with questions as a few handy tips were thrown in along with plotting ways to introduce me the beverage before I turned into a complete anti-tea outcast.

A few had gone a step ahead and declared that my I-don’t-drink-tea ways might even come in the way of my happy marriage, an area of research that even the acclaimed Stanford University is yet to prove – the correlation between a happy marriage and passionate drinking tea.

Luckily, my in-laws or the husband are blatantly unaware of this prophecy as they are more than happy to lend me a cup of coffee during tea times at home.

To this day, I have friends and family who don’t waste a moment to comment on my antisocial untea-friendly ways as I politely refuse a cup and stick to my choices.

Over the years, I have fine-tuned my tea making skills with variations as per what the occasion demands. I have even come to enjoy ‘the Sulaimani’ or the spiced black tea.

So if you happen to visit us at home, be sure to enjoy a steaming cup of cardamom or spiced ginger or mint tea but with a traditional filter-‘kaapi’ lover for company.

33 responses »

  1. You have a way with words Pranitha! Your words freely flow with all the emotions and an extra dash of humour. 😁
    I am a tea lover and also enjoy an occasional cup of fresh South Indian filter kaapi😉.
    Looking forward to visiting you some day for your cardamom and adrak chai 😊😊
    Keep writing more often. Have a great Sunday!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A good post… Don’t know which I loved more, your way of writing or the fact this post on my favourite beverage!! Inspite of my loyalty towards tea, I always have a coffee, the first thing in the morning….

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I too share your love the all-amorous ‘chai’. I simply love it. Now that Monsoons have started here in Kerala in right earnest, my cuppa chai is my most die-hard companion(not one cup of course, as one can’t stop with just a cup of chai!)…. nice read to which I could relate to!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have a friend who can make a wonderful Chai tea from scratch, so much better than the store bought stuff. Sadly, when I try to make it it never turns out. I enjoyed reading your story and I was very amused about your “I-don’t-drink-tea ways”. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so very much for stopping by. Yes, making chai is an art in itself and an Indian, even a non-tea drinker like me, can brew a hot spicy cup in just a little more than a minute. Enjoy your cuppa!

      Like

  5. I’m glad that your husband and your in-laws are blatantly unaware of this so-called prophecy! Good for you. 😀 My brother is the Horlicks baby in my family. But recently he’s started to drink tea in the evenings (provided my mom adds enough and more of milk! 😂😂) As for me, I have to drink tea twice a day. No more. No less. 😁 I’m not a fan of masala tea though! Pinne ippo green tea njan nirbhandham pidichu vangichond maathram kudikkum. 😂😂😂 Actually the correct term would be “swallow before the taste makes me re-think my decision to swallow” 😂😂😂😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lovely, another tea drinker. Okay, at least your brother WAS a Horlicks baby. I think I now know why I was rather always have been and still am a certified outcast. Okay, Sulaimani and the green tea are my favorite so I will not complain there.

      Like

  6. Wonderfully penned, Pranitha. Enjoyed reading this . Any time is tea time here specially during winter, and pakoras are definitely an add on during a rainy day. Reading about your adrak cup of tea leaves me totally refreshed 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Thank you for reading. I would love to know what you think...

